Quelle Chris has announced a new album that features Earl Sweatshirt, billy woods, Tune-Yards’ Merrill Garbus, Denmark Vessey, Homeboy Sandman, Pink Siifu, comedian Josh Gondelman, and more. It’s called Innocent Country 2 and it arrives April 24 via Mello Music Group. He’s also shared a new track from the record, titled “LIVING HAPPY” (featuring Chicago’s Joseph Chilliams and New Orleans-based rapper Cavalier).

Give “LIVING HAPPY” a listen below and scroll down for the IC2 tracklist and cover art, as well as Quelle Chris’ recent music video for “SUDDEN DEATH” and Chris’ statement on the record.

Chris Keys produced Innocent Country 2 (with co-production from Quelle Chris). The two Chrises also mixed the album together. The record follows Quelle Chris’ 2019 LP Guns, as well as his 2018 collaboration with Jean Grae, Everything’s Fine.

Innocent Country 2:

02 OUTRO/Honest [ft. Marcella Arguela]
03 LIVING HAPPY [ft. Joseph Chilliams and Cavalier]
04 SACRED SAFE [ft. Merrill Garbus, Cavalier and Homeboy Sandman]
06 MOMENTS [ft. Josh Gondelman]
07 Bottle Black Power BUY THE BUSINESS
08 GREASE FROM THE ELBOWS [ft. Pink Siifu and billy woods]
09 BLACK TWITTER [ft. MosEL and Nelson Bandela]
10 RITUAL [ft. Dr Tennille]
12 MAKE IT BETTER [ft. Starr Busby]
13 GRAPHIC BLEED OUTS [ft. Merrill Garbus and Melanie St. Charles]
14 MIRAGE [ft. Earl Sweatshirt, Denmark Vessey, Merrill Garbus and Big Sen]
15 WHEN YOU FALL… [ft. Nappy Nina, Fresh Daily and 5ILL]

Quelle Chris:

Innocent Country Season 2, the second installment of the Innocent Country series (by producer/instrumentalist Chris Keys and I) and the
fourth in the
2Dirt4TV series, deals with finding peace within the pain expressed in
Innocent Country 1.
Where IC1 explored isolation IC2 embraces community. The overtones
of pessimism in IC1 have been replaced with hope. This “country,”
presented as both the individual and the whole, has hands stained in
blood. From action and inaction. IC2 is not only about recognizing
what makes us who we are, good and evil, but about acknowledging,
growing, healing, helping, communicating, living, learning (and more
verbs than I can attempt to write in a quote) together. So many human
truths that should bring us together have been turned into tools to
separate us. We (Chris and I) are not here to solve the world’s
problems. We’re not here to play “woke” or conscience or some other
label that distracts from the music/message. We are simply humans with
hearts, eyes, ears and voices. We only wish to share a few spells of
positivity that, if received, may provide a sword, a shield and a
soundtrack for light in the often bleak timeline that is the now.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here